About Puranas

The Puranas are a genre of important Hindu religious texts, notably consisting of narratives of the history of the universe from creation to destruction, genealogies of kings, heroes, sages, and demigods, and descriptions of Hindu cosmology, philosophy, and geography. Puranas usually give prominence to a particular deity, employing an abundance of religious and philosophical concepts.

There are 18 puranas:

01. Vishnu Purana
02. Narada Puranam
03. Padma Puranam
04. Garuda Puranam
05. Varaha Puranam
06. Bhagavata Puranam
07. Brahma Puranam
08. Brahma-vaivartha Puranam
09. Brahmaanda Puranam
10. Markandeya Puranam
11. Bhavishya Puranam
12. Vamana Puranam
13. Siva Puranam
14. Linga Puranam
15. Skanda Puranam
16. Agni Puranam
17. Matsya Puranam
18. Kurma Puranam